Portugal is a European Union member state and grants visa-free entry to all EU/EEA/Swiss citizens, as well as certain family members and relatives even if they are not from the EU themselves. EU nationals are allowed to enter the country for three months with the aim of finding a job or setting up a business. Once hired, EU nationals have the same rights as Portuguese workers.

Portugal is also part of the Schengen Area which is made up of 26 European countries that have removed border controls between them. Citizens of Schengen countries can travel freely between one country and another without a passport. They only need an identification document to enter Portugal.

The Schengen Area countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Four of these countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) are not members of the EU but enjoy similar rights under the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

The Portuguese residence visa can be obtained as a Schengen National ‘Long-stay’ visa granted to individuals who will be working, studying or permanently residing in a Schengen area country for a set time. This can be issued as a multi-entry visa that allows travel to other Schengen countries, provided the holder meets certain criteria. If you obtain any type of Portuguese residence visa, you are required to apply for a residence permit upon entering Portugal.